Panyaden School’s 12 Wise Habits


Panyaden School’s 12 Wise Habits

About This Resource

Summary The guiding principles of Panyaden International School are represented by these 12 Wise Habits. Here is a quick list of all 12: 1. Using the senses wisely, Knowing the right amount, Not harming, Being patient and tolerant, Being enthusiastic, Being truthful, Persevering, Being generous, Being kind and compassionate, Being mindful and alert, Being calm and focused, and Applying the mind skillfully. Read more about them here or download a copy to put up as a friendly reminder.


Panyaden School’s 12 Wise Habits

The Wise Habits of Panyaden are 12 core virtues for all of us to understand, learn, and practice. Given to us by the school’s spiritual advisor, Taan Ajahn Jayasaro, we look for fun and creative ways to teach both our children and ourselves these good habits, which will last a lifetime.

1. Using the senses wisely (Indriyasamvara)

1.1 Maintain right speech (do not deceive others, speak ill of others, use impolite language or gossip)
1.2 Have good manners (behaving appropriately at right time and in the right place, being in control of your body, knowing how to stand, sit and walk properly)
1.3 Have manners in eating
1.4 Keep good thoughts (not thinking about others negatively)

2. Knowing the right amount (Mattannuta)
2.1 Consume enough — not too much, not too little
2.2 Know how to manage time

3. Not harming (Avihimsa)

3.1 Do not physically or mentally hurt humans, animals and nature (eg trees, rivers)
3.2 Do not damage or possess another’s property
3.3 Do not take revenge, slander or think negatively of others

4. Being patient and tolerant (Khanti)

4.1 Be patient and tolerant with one’s own tasks
4.2 Be patient against natural occurrences (such as sickness or hunger)

5. Being enthusiastic (Chanda)

5.1 Be enthusiastic about developing own strength and knowledge
5.2 Have will and effort to succeed
5.3 Create and maintain good behaviour

6. Being truthful (Sacca)

6.1 Speak the truth
6.2 Keep one’s word

7. Persevering (Viriya Chakriyanuyok)

7.1 Try hard and be diligent in the task assigned
7.2 Try hard in doing wholesome (positive) acts and giving up unwholesome (negative) ones

8. Being generous (Caga)

8.1 Be generous by giving to others
8.2 Know how to act when winning or losing; know how to forgive

9. Being kind and compassionate (Metta-Karuna)

9.1 Know how to share
9.2 Desire to make others happy; be glad when others succeed
9.3 Help others and community in not only material but also physical and mental ways

10. Being mindful and alert (Sati)
10.1 Physical: be mindful of one’s body, such as not forgetting one’s belongings
10.2 Moral: be mindful of one’s responsibilities
10.3 Mental: be mindful and alert, always ready to learn and do one’s tasks
10.4 Wisdom: be mindful in finding the right and appropriate solution for present issues

11. Being calm and focused (Samadhi)

11.1 Focused fully on one’s work
11.2 Be able to meditate in the proper manner according to age
11.3 Know how to be calm, both physically and mentally, and satisfied with the happiness that comes from being peaceful

12. Applying the mind skilfully (Yonisomanasikara)

12.1 Right thinking: have gratitude to parents, teachers and others that help us; believe in consequences from one’s actions
12.2 Dharma thinking: engage in thinking based on cause and effect, thinking in the four noble truths, thinking of pros and cons and with solutions in mind, thinking of real values not superficial ones, thinking in 3 characteristics (impermanence, suffering, non-self)



Leave a Reply